About Us eTourist Visa

Note : eTourist Visa is directly granted by the authorities in India

eTourist Visa (eTV) scheme – The Government of India has launched eTourist Visa - enabled with Electronic Travel Authorization scheme on  November 27, 2014 for citizens of 43 countries, including the United States of America. Details of the scheme are available on the dedicated website created for this purpose: https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.html. The purpose of the visit may range from tourism, casual business visit, short term medical treatment or a visit to meet friends and relatives.

The eTV facility is in addition to the existing Visa services being provided through the Consulate General of India, Chicago.

2. The US Citizens can apply online for eTourist Visa (twice a year, each visit not exceeding 30 days, visa duration non-extendable) permission for which shall be granted through email. The applicant is expected to take a print of this email (which is the Electronic Travel Authorization for eTourist Visa) and can travel to India through 9 designated international airports (Bangalore, Chennai, Kochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram). The eTV scheme entails capture of biometric data of the visitor on arrival at the airport.

3. Applicants requiring help may call the helpline number (+91-11-24300666) or send an email to indiatvoa@gov.in for any queries in connection with applying for eTV.